Pin It





November 20, 2017

Gluten free or not? – Oats cookies

Posted on June 13, 2011 by in baked goods

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

“So, are these cookies gluten-free or not?” If I have to get a dollar every time I answer this question, I will be a wealthy blogger, let alone a very happy blogger.
The question poses to be a rather difficult one to answer after the research I have done, but I think I have figured it out and would gladly share my bit of knowledge  I have gained. Let’s just remember, I am by no means a homeopath,dietitian or specialist on coeleac or celiac disease, I am merely a mom who is constantly on the look out for healthier options. After….
my radio talk about Betty Bake’s Wheat free Date and Almond treats, I realized after the umpteenth email that there is a great need for gluten free recipes. Sadly though, the general conception is that you cannot possibly be eating delicious, mouthwatering  food that is also nutritious and good for you. Somehow we find it very difficult to combine these two concepts in one meal. When it comes to gluten, the arguments are as many as the recipes to be found on the Internet and the debate whether oats is gluten-free or not as as old as the mountains. I have read as much as I could and  spoke to homeopaths and dietitians and I have learned the following:

For people with celiac disease, it is important to know:

  •  Recent research indicates that some cultivars of oats can be a safe part of a gluten-free diet, because different varieties of oat have different levels of toxicity. Celiac, disease, is often associated with the ingestion of wheat, more specifically proteins labelled prolamines, or more commonly called gluten.
  • Oats lack quite a few of the prolamines found in wheat; but oats do contain avenin, which and can trigger a reaction in these coeliacs.
  • Additionally, oats are frequently processed near wheat, barley and other grains, so much so that they become contaminated with other glutens.
  • Consumption of oats is safe in the amount of 50 to 70 grams per day (1/2 – 3/4 cup dry rolled oats) by adults and 20 to 25 grams per day (1/4 cup dry rolled oats) by children with celiac disease.
  •   Individuals with celiac disease who wish to add oats or oat products to their diet must ensure that the oats they are eating are free from gluten contamination.

For my family and I who wish to just reduce our intake of refined wheat products, these oats cookies are a wonderful and very moreish alternative. It is also ideal for Meatless Mondays. At the end of the recipe, I will give sweet and savory options, but this is just the basic recipe for Oats Cookies


Gluten-free Oats Cookies
8 servings

2 cups organically grown oats
enough water to form a sticky dough.

Place the oats in your food processor and let the machine run until you have a mealie meal like consistency. Pour water into the funnel while the machine is running until you have a thick sticky dough(almost like cooked oats). Add some salt if you wish. Use a non-stick pan or spray your pan with non-stick spray and bake spoonfuls on a very low heat until they get some colored spots on the one side, turn over and do the same. when cooked, allow to cool slightly, slice open and serve with your favorite topping

  • – butter and honey
  • – peanut butter and honey
  • – tomato and cheese
  • – avo and tomato

The can use this basic recipe as an open canvas and create your own unique recipe. Sometimes I add:

  • – ½ cup of mealie kernels
  • – chopped chives
  • – dried thyme or any other herb you have available
  • – ½ tsp ground cinnamon for a sweet option – serve with banana and honey.

Please don’t forget your entries to the Monthly Mingle where this month we will be mingling with apples. Send those recipes, savory or sweet, I am eagerly awaiting your entries!

Facebook Comments

Tags:

11 Responses to “Gluten free or not? – Oats cookies”

  1. Leaine's Kitchen 13 June 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Such a clever idea, Nina. I love it – thank you 🙂

  2. Des Timm 13 June 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Love your Fried egg!! Wish I was able to be as creative…although my taste in tallent is fantastic. I married u didn't I :-)-The Husband

  3. That Girl 13 June 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I usually look for gluten free foods during passover because I know they're "safe." But these certainly aren't!

  4. Helene 14 June 2011 at 2:28 am #

    You make me feel hungry, what a nice egg. Great gluten free recipe.

  5. Nina Timm 14 June 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    leaine – thank you, they are quite addictive!

  6. Nina Timm 14 June 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    the husband – oh you are so funny!

  7. Nina Timm 14 June 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    that girl – it is not always a good thing to follow the safe route, he-he!!

    • Sadie 10 February 2013 at 7:44 pm #

      For people with coeliac disease it is most definitely not a joke.

  8. Nina Timm 14 June 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    helene – I do love fried egg, maybe that's why I do it well, 'cause I do it so often!!

  9. Junglefrog 19 June 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    It does seem that I am hearing more and more about glutenfree these last few months. It could be a coincidance but it seems to be a real problem. I'm glad I don't have to eat glutenfree but I've decided I want to try and see how it tastes and how it is to have to bake or cook glutenfree.

  10. Charlene 24 June 2011 at 8:27 am #

    I love this – made mini pizzas with olive and tomato paste, topped with cheese, under the grill – yummy!


Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>